Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes with Bailey’s Buttercream

image

I don’t tend to make many cupcakes these days but since I was going to a St. Patrick’s Day party this weekend I thought it would be a perfect excuse to bake a batch of these beauties. I make Nigella Lawson’s chocolate Guinness cake at least once a year. It is one of my all time favourites – I’m no Guinness drinker but I absolutely love the flavour it imparts into this dark, damp cake. It’s not as rich as you would think – it’s actually surprisingly light and so, so moist. Even if you don’t like the idea of beer in a cake, I would advise you to give it a go – you’ll be pleasantly surprised!

Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes
Adapted From Nigella Lawson “Feast”

250ml Guinness
250g butter
75g cocoa powder
400g caster sugar
2 medium eggs
150ml sour cream
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
275g plain flour
2 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

Preheat the oven to 180C/Gas mark 4.
Line two muffin/cupcake trays with cupcake cases.

Melt the Guinness and butter together in a large saucepan. When the butter has melted, whisk in the cocoa powder and sugar.

In a jug, beat together the sour cream, eggs and vanilla. Pour this into the Guinness mixture and stir. Finally, sift together the flour and bicarbonate of soda and gradually whisk into the pan. I find if you chuck in all the flour at once you end up with a lumpy mixture that takes forever to smooth out!

Pour the mixture into a large jug (much easier for filling the cupcake cases) and fill the cases no more than two thirds full. The batter will be runnier than a normal cupcake batter. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the cupcakes are well risen.

Bailey’s Irish Cream Buttercream (Will be enough to ice your 24 cupcakes)

250g soft butter
500g Icing sugar
A good splash of Bailey’s

Simply place all the ingredients in a bowl and mix really well on high speed (preferably using a mixer) for 7-10 minutes or until very light and mousse like in texture. Taste and add more Bailey’s if you think it needs it.

Happy St Patrick’s Day!

image

24 thoughts on “Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes with Bailey’s Buttercream

  1. Yummy – Nigella’s guinness cake is one of my absolute favourites, and the idea of Baileys on top as buttercream sounds gorgeous (I have added Baileys to Nigella’s standard frosting to make a Baileys cheesecake). I made Baileys no-churn ice cream as well as the guinness cake this year – St Patrick’s day is an easy theme :)

  2. They are beautiful Nic!
    I don’t like Guiness or lager unfortunately, but I can still appreciate a gorgeous cup pie, right? :) xx

    • Oh definitely Anna! I normally hate Guinness, couldn’t drink the stuff if you paid me but I love this Guinness cake. The flavour is obviously different to a normal chocolate cake, but not beery – it’s quite malty but not in a overpowering way xx

Leave a Reply

