Mini Toads in the hole

image

Hello! I know I’ve been quiet lately….truth be told I’ve been a little blue lately :-/ Somehow I lost my cooking mojo along the way but I’m pleased to say I’m slowly getting it back :-)

Sometimes life gets us down doesn’t it? It feels like once you finally feel like you’re getting somewhere, you’re thrown another curveball. They may all be small problems compared to what an awful lot of people are going through in this world, but all those little things tend to pile up on top of eachother until you feel you can’t take much more. But that’s life and we battle on. Sometimes you just need to have a little faith that
things will get better. Because they usually do :-)

So I’m relieved I’m starting to feel like cooking again because a little kitchen therapy does wonders for the soul. I find pottering around in the kitchen very relaxing. The order of the day here was comfort food. And if you were to ask my boys what their definition of comfort food was they would undoubtedly say sausages, Yorkshire pudding and gravy.

Since it was just myself and my boys tonight, I decided to make someĀ  mini toad in the holes. They were devoured in minutes!

Mini Toads in the Hole
Makes around 7-8 mini toads

Preheat the oven to 230C. Pour a scant 1/2 tsp oil in a muffin tray. Place in the oven and heat until smoking hot.

Measure out one small cup (like a child’s drinking cup) flour and one small cup of milk. Place in a bowl and add 2 eggs and a pinch of salt. Whisk together well. Set aside.

Take your sausages (I used little chipolatas) and brown them in a pan. This step is optional – it’s not necessary but gives the sausages a better colour. I can’t not do it – I hate peely-wally looking sausages! But please – you can skip this part if you’re in a hurry/can’t be bothered

When the oil is smoking, carefully remove the tray from the oven. Pour the batter half way up each cup and pop in a sausage (or two if they are very small.)

Cook for 10-15 minutes or until very well risen and golden.

9 thoughts on “Mini Toads in the hole

  1. I’ve felt like that sometimes. I think it happens when you put too much pressure on yourself to do this, that and the next thing. A step back from it all is all that’s needed. I lost my baking mojo last year when everything I made seemed to go wrong – very demoralising! Glad to hear you are slowly getting back into it :)

  2. Hope you’re feeling better Nic. We all go through it that’s for sure. Things get better though. And lovely food can only help! Xxx

Leave a Reply

