New blogging event “Dish of the month” – Nigel Slater’s Marzipan & Berry Cakes/Mincemeat hotcakes with brandy butter

1-Dish-of-the-Month

I am a pretty big fan of Nigel Slater.  I own quite a few of his books and I read them all the time.  I absolutely adore his style of writing.  There is something about it that is so evocative.  He talks about food in such a descriptive manner you can almost smell it, really imagine how it tastes.  No book has ever made me laugh and cry in equal measures as his autobiography “Toast”.  Although I have to admit that I’ve only made a small handful of his recipes. I’ve been aware of this lately, so when I saw that Susan of  A little bit of heaven on a plate and Janice of Farmersgirl Kitchen were hosting a new monthly blogging event called “Dish of The Month” which is dedicated to Nigel’s recipes, I just had to take part.

I’ve been feeling pretty lousy all weekend with a bad cold so a shopping trip was out of the question, so for that reason I had to make do with what I had in the fridge/cupboards.  My original intention was to make Nigel’s chocolate hazelnut slice.  I did indeed start to make it, but lets just say it didn’t quite work out! I don’t know if my oven was too hot, I had made an error weighing the ingredients or if I had just drank one too many Beechams hot lemon to combat my head cold, but it turned out very dry and bitter.  Damn it. Oh well.  Back to the drawing board!

A quick scan of my cupboard this morning showed I had all the ingredients for these Marzipan and berry cakes.

Image

These little cakes are really gorgeous.  You have a soft, almond flavoured cake studded with little chunks of marzipan and berries (I used blueberries and some frozen blackcurrants.)  They are quite heavenly! A must try.

014

Another Nigel recipe I tried recently was Mincemeat hotcakes with brandy butter which were delicious and a fantastic way to use up that half jar of mincemeat lying around. Definitely one to make again!

Image

Thank you Susan and Janice for organising this event.  Looking forward to seeing the other entries!

10 thoughts on “New blogging event “Dish of the month” – Nigel Slater’s Marzipan & Berry Cakes/Mincemeat hotcakes with brandy butter

  1. Thanks so much for joining in, I have made these cakes myself and really liked them…and…have a half jar of mincemeat so will make the hotcakes too now I’ve seen this.

  2. These look really fab, I might try these with my last remaining precious frozen brambles. Of course, like you, I am enormous fan of Nigel’s writing and recipes. He just makes me feel relaxed and allows me to wallow in the cooking experience (not that I need any encouragement), I think his writing style and passion would make anyone want to cook. I’m going to have a look at Susan and Janice’s Nigel event since I use his recipes so much. Thanks for pointing me in that direction. Tracey

    • No problem :-) I’m really glad I found out about this blogging event too because now I have an excuse to try more recipes :-) And I’m so glad I made these cakes, they are really delicious. I had one for breakfast this morning and they were still lovely and moist.

Leave a Reply

