Mars Bar Crispy Cake

I hadn’t actually planned to post this recipe since it’s extremely simple and easy, but this is such an old classic I couldn’t resist.  I often make this for children’s parties where it is devoured by both kids and adults!  I am not safe around this stuff at all.  I find it extremely addictive.  It’s just as well my husband and boys love it as much as I do!

Without the chocolate topping – it’s still as yummy without it if you don’t want a big chocolate hit!

This is my entry to a brand new blogging event called “Zero Baking Required” hosted by Sarah of Maison Cupcake.  Visit Sarah’s site to drool over all the other yummy no bake treats :-)

Mars Bar Crispy Cake

4 Mars Bars, chopped
50g butter
2 tablespoons golden syrup
225g Rice Krispies
150g milk chocolate

Melt the butter, syrup and Mars Bars in a large pan.  If the nougat is taking ages to melt, give it a little squish with a wooden spoon. When everything is all nice and smooth, pour in the rice Krispies and stir to coat.  Turn out onto your greased baking tray and level it out. Melt the milk chocolate in a bowl over a pan of simmering water. Pour over your crispy cake.  Leave in the fridge to set for a couple of hours or until firm enough to cut into squares.  Expect this to disappear very quickly!

Image

12 thoughts on “Mars Bar Crispy Cake

  1. OMG I cannot believe how delicious this looks. I had to look up what a Mars bar is. I think we have something similar in our Milky Way bar. One day when I need something sweet and fast, I have to try this. Good luck in the contest!

    • Thanks! It’s such a quick and easy recipe, everyone seems to love it. The batch I made yesterday is all gone, believe it or not! I’ve already been asked to make a second!

  2. Baking cupcakes has also become an integral part of many weekend parties where people get together, share recipes, have fun baking and decorating,
    and (the best part) sampling different cupcakes.
    Ensure all of your ingredients are at room temperature,
    so that they mix together evenly. To achieve any degree of
    success, you have to throw that “hobby” label out – it’s time to work.

Leave a Reply

